Students, staff recognized at Oct. 22 board meeting
Students, staff recognized at Oct. 22 board meeting
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Read about the students and staff who were recognized at the Oct. 22 Board of Education meeting.

Fred Saigh Leadership Program
Junior Jaxon Luraschi was one of 20 students selected to attend the Fred Saigh Leadership Program. During the year-long program, students visit places and meet leaders throughout the metropolitan area that make the community vital and effective in meeting the needs of its citizens. Students also work with their teachers on leadership activities. The program's curriculum introduces, fosters and develops leadership skills through involving students in issues that face the community. At the completion of the program, the students are equipped to campaign for school offices, manage school projects and assume leadership positions.

State archery championship
Junior Tyler Wright earned the 2019 Best Barebow Archer award in the junior male category at the Missouri Archery Association's (MAA) State Championship. This is the third consecutive year Wright has held the state title in this category. He was also named the MAA Junior Male Archer of the Year.

FOCUS St. Louis Leadership Program
Senior Momo Kikuchi was selected to serve a one-year term on the FOCUS St. Louis board of directors. FOCUS offers experience-based leadership programs and civic issues education, helping people better understand their region and build their capacity for change. Kikuchi previously completed the Youth Leadership St. Louis program through FOCUS St. Louis.

Eagle Scouts
This summer, two Pattonville students earned the rank of Eagle Scout. Senior Connor Hughes completed his project mapping and marking eight miles of previously unmarked hiking trails for the Mound Ridge Retreat and Mission Center. He worked with a group of Scouts using GPS to walk the trails and paint markers on the path and then used a program to make a color-coded map that will be added to a Mound Ridge brochure. Additionally, sophomore DeAndre Westbrook earned Eagle Scout rank after building and installing a Little Free Library and picnic benches at Parkwood Elementary School, the same elementary school he attended. The project took about three weeks and Westbrook enlisted the help of fellow Scouts. He taught them to stain, assemble and install the library cabinet and tables.

DeAndre Westbrook Eagle Scout Rank.jpg

(Photo above: DeAndre Westbrook)

State video contest
Juniors Chandler Fajardo and Rachel McCormick placed first in the Missouri School Boards Association (MSBA) video contest. This year's theme was Be Wise, Speak Up, Save Lives and emphasized the positive outcomes of reporting safety concerns. They, along with their teacher Karolyn Florence, were invited to the annual MSBA conference where their video was shown and they were recognized.


(Photo above: from left, Chandler Fajardo, Rachel McCormick and Karolyn Florence)

National Merit honorees
Seven seniors from Pattonville High School were recognized for their participation in the National Merit Scholarship Program, which recognizes students for outstanding performance on the Preliminary SAT (PSAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Kyle Halveland, Erin McMahon and William Skaggs were named semifinalists in the program and have the opportunity to earn a National Merit Scholarship. Semifinalists represent less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors. Additionally, Kyra Correa, Ayana Griffin, Alexander Lopez and James Pieper were named Commended Students. Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who took the PSAT. Although Commended Students will not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some may be candidates for special scholarships offered by corporate sponsors.

Erin McMahon National Merit Scholarship.jpg

(Photo above: Erin McMahon)

Opera Theatre selections
Fourteen students from Pattonville High School auditioned in front of a panel of college voice teachers and coaches for the Opera Theatre of St. Louis' Young Artist in Training program. Only 20 students are accepted, and this year, five of those students are from Pattonville. They are Ja'nya Cruise, Kristen Jones, Grace Radican, Hannah Radican and Tony Washington. Students selected for the program participate in weekly, college-level voice lessons and coaching, take part in master classes with professional singers and teachers from around the country, perform in recitals, compete for scholarships and receive college guidance. Students also participate in retreats and college tours and attend opera and musical theater performances in the area. Tracy Baker and Melynda Lamb are their choir teachers at Pattonville.

UMSL Bridge Program
The following students completed the 2019 Bridge Program Summer Academy at the University of Missouri-St. Louis (UMSL): Sheriyah Allen, Zion Bradsher, Cornel Childs, Amaris Kirksey and Jazara Word. During the summer Bridge Program, students attend daily classes and workshops at UMSL, focusing on college planning.

Cornel Childs Bridge Program.jpg

(Photo above: Cornel Childs)

Safe response in emergency
Students riding a Special School District (SSD) bus arrived back to school safely after quick thinking by a student and staff members. When an SSD bus experienced a mechanical failure that caused a fire, Pattonville student Brenden Reynolds, the SSD bus driver Frances Blizzard, SSD speech-language pathologist Victoria Carlson-Casaregola and SSD special education teacher Carrie Gausling quickly evacuated students from the bus and made sure everyone was safe. Fortunately, no one was injured.

Brenden Reynolds Victoria Carlson Casaregola Bus Heroes.jpg

(Photo above: from left, Carrie Gausling, Frances Blizzard, Brenden Reynolds and Victoria Carlson-Casaregola)

Discovery Education Institute
Science teacher Rob Lamb was selected through a competitive application process to attend Discovery Education's Summer Institute (DENSI). The program is an immersive, residential-style professional development experience where participants connect with a global community of educators and learn through seminars and workshops from keynote speakers, the Discovery Education team and members of the Discovery Education community. Only 200 educators from across the world were invited to attend.  

Human Resources Administrator of the Year
David Besgrove, Pattonville's director of human resources, was selected as the Human Resources Administrator of the Year by the Missouri Association of School Personnel Administrators (MOASPA). Besgrove serves on the organization's board of directors and has served as a leader in it since 2002. The award recognizes staff for their human resources leadership skills.

David Besgrove HR Admin of the Year.jpg

(Photo above: David Besgrove)

Pattonville School District

11097 St. Charles Rock Road
St. Ann, MO 63074
(314) 213-8500

Facebook Twitter  

Technology Helpdesk



Legal Notices

Handbooks and Guides

District Policies


Upcoming Events
Student Artwork Spotlight