Students, staff recognized at March 12 board meeting
Students, staff recognized at March 12 board meeting
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Read about the students and staff who were recognized at the Feb. 26 Board of Education meeting.

Rosemary Zander Award
Mavrick Altman, a senior at Pattonville High School, was selected to receive the Special School District’s (SSD) Rosemary Zander Award. The award recognizes the success of students who receive services from SSD in areas including academics, arts, athletics, employment and community service.


World Wide Technology STEM Student Forum
Students in the high school Computer Science Capstone course placed first in the World Wide Technology STEM Student Forum Hackathon. Members of the class include Eli Card, Yasaman Mostafavi, William Skaggs, Sam Vaclavik, Jacob Wilfong and Kyle Wright. They are taught by computer science teacher Jeremiah Simmons. Participating teams were tasked with developing a solution that uses technology to solve a problem in their school or community. They were judged on how well they articulated their solution or product; the overall creativity of their project and core values; and how well the team displayed humility, teamwork, collaboration and attitude. Pattonville’s team earned a $10,000 prize for its first-place success.


Scholastic Art and Writing honors
Two seniors earned regional honorable mention awards in the 2019 Scholastic Art and Writing program. Celia Friedrich submitted an eight-piece art portfolio and Randy Hartmann submitted an etching for the printmaking category. Submissions are judged by a juried panel on originality, technical skill and the emergence of a personal voice or vision. Beth Kathriner teaches these students.

Key to the Classroom Award
Terri Lyell, a Special School District (SSD) teacher who works at Parkwood Elementary School, was recognized with one of the district’s Key to the Classroom awards. The award recognizes the achievements of dedicated educators in SSD. One Key to the Classroom recipient will be selected as the District’s Teacher of the Year.

Master Journalism Educator
Brian Heyman, the journalism and yearbook teacher at Pattonville High School, passed a National Journalism Education Association (JEA) certificate exam to become a Master Journalism Educator (MJE). This is the highest level of certification with the JEA. The exam helps determine if the applicant has the ability to help other journalism educators, advise students working on a specific project, design or adapt journalism programs to meet specific needs and serve as a spokesperson representing journalism teachers on the local, state and national levels. Heyman was also approved to work on a project titled Building a Multimedia Studio Using the PBL (Project Based Learning) Method. The pre-approved project shows how journalism expertise from the exam is demonstrated.


Pattonville School District

11097 St. Charles Rock Road
St. Ann, MO 63074
(314) 213-8500

Facebook Twitter  

Technology Helpdesk



Legal Notices

Handbooks and Guides

District Policies


Upcoming Events
Student Artwork Spotlight