Students, staff recognized at Feb. 27 board meeting
Students, staff recognized at Feb. 27 board meeting
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Read about the students and staff who were recognized at the Feb. 27 Board of Education meeting.

Arrow of Light
Three fifth-grade students from Pattonville were recognized for earning the Arrow of Light rank, the highest achievable rank in Cub Scouts. Parkwood Elementary School students Rowan Conner and Travis Libhart and Noah Griffin, a fifth-grader in the STEM program at Holman Middle School, were recognized for the honor. To achieve the Arrow of Light rank, scouts must be an active member, earn four specifically required adventure badges and three elective adventures and complete a Cyber Chip award.


Music educators awards
Three Pattonville music teachers were recognized by the St. Louis Suburban Music Educators Association. Sara Deutschmann, who teaches band at Pattonville High School, was honored with the Outstanding Music Educator award. Tracy Baker, choir teacher at Pattonville Heights Middle School, and Melynda Lamb, choir teacher at the high school, earned Certificates of Merit.

Drummond Elementary School
DePaul Art of Healing Wall
Twenty-three students from Drummond had artwork chosen to be displayed at SSM DePaul Hospital’s Art of Healing Wall. The wall is a way for DePaul to give back to the community and give area students the opportunity to shine through their creativity. The students whose artwork was displayed are: Elijah Beard, Courtney Bradley, Brian Brown, Janitzia Calderon-Sanchez, Tarryn Duncan, Kailey Griffin, Hannah Guetschow, Zarhiya Hayes, Gianna Hogan, Brooke Johnson, Jayden Lapsley, Blake Meriwether, Trenton Morell, Jace Prabhu, Analeigh Reason, Leium Renner, Ami Romero-Medina, Veronica Romero-Medina, Dylan Rodriguez-Jimenez, Kayleigh Schumer, Eric Sims, Christopher Throgmorton and Kiley Wallace. Josie Cammarata is their art teacher.
Parkwood Elementary School
Blues Bookworms honorees
Two students from Amanda Castile’s kindergarten class were ranked as the top readers in the Blues Bookworms program. Devina Patel was recognized as the top kindergarten reader in November with 1,230 minutes and Anupam Srivastava was the top reader for December with 1,923 minutes. Sponsored by the St. Louis Blues, the winter program recognizes students for reading. Each month, students record the number of minutes they read and those who read more than 1,000 minutes receive a buy-one, get-one free ticket voucher to a Blues game. Overall, Castile’s class logged more than 14,000 minutes.


Pattonville High School
State archery champion
Freshman Tyler Wright earned the 2017 Best Barebow Archer award in the junior male category at the Missouri Archery Association's State Championship. He broke the state record for barebow in his category.


Gateway Chess honors
Two students competed as individuals and earned trophies at the Gateway Chess Tournament at Belleville High School and will advance to state. Sophomore Maurice Blackmon won two of four games and was awarded the trophy for top sophomore player, and senior Joseph Kasprzyk won three of four games and was awarded the trophy for top senior player. They are coached by teacher Stephanie Schmitt.


Missouri thespian honors, national qualifiers
During the Missouri State Thespian Conference, Pattonville’s Thespian Troupe was named an Honor Troupe, which recognizes groups for participation at conferences, state and local involvement and community service/advocacy. Troupes must also give a presentation on their work before a panel of judges. In addition, many students earned performance honors at the conference. The following students qualified for nationals after earning superior ratings. Tamia Tyler earned a superior rating in the solo musical individual event. Nadia Maddex and Will Pirrie earned a superior rating in the duet musical individual event. Emily Barton, Alonna Gibson and Elleni Yeshiwas earned a superior rating in the group musical individual event. In addition, the following students earned excellent ratings at the conference: Haley Reynolds for the monologue individual event; Kaitlyn Kelly and Jarred McCormick for duet acting individual event; and Kelly, Maddex, McCormick, Pirrie and Yeshiwas for Improv Olympix. Raya Boyd earned a good rating in the Short Film Individual Event. In addition, Arianna Burnett, Lacey Harder, Louis Johnson and Elise Thompkins participated in the Tech Challenge. Additional members of the Honor Troupe are Christie Jiang, Devon Linhardt, Amanda Rossel, Katie Stevens, Brittany Strasburger, Aeeda Talukder, Lydia McCullough and Karen Rendon. Teacher Lara Covera directs the Thespian Troupe and Megan Kemper assisted.

Inspiring Teacher Award
High school computer science teacher Jeremiah Simmons received an Inspiring Teacher Award by the Challenger Learning Center-St. Louis. The award recognizes seven teachers in the St. Louis area for inspiring students to pursue a degree or career in a STEM field. Simmons was nominated by a current student for helping to teach students to love what they do in order to make a difference.

Pattonville School District

11097 St. Charles Rock Road
St. Ann, MO 63074
(314) 213-8500

Facebook Twitter  

Technology Helpdesk



Legal Notices

Handbooks and Guides

District Policies


Upcoming Events
Student Artwork Spotlight